+234 8079917938, +234 7064701747, +234 9082907092 centralinfo@noun.edu.ng

About Faculty of Education

About The Faculty

The Faculty of Education is as old as the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN). It is one of the four Schools that commenced operation in 2003/2004 academic year. However, in response to the 2016 system reform in the university, the school has transformed from School structure to Faculty/Departmental structure.

Dr. Mercy Ogunsola-Bandele (now a Professor of Science Education and the Director of the Quality Assurance Directorate) served as the pioneer Acting Dean of the then School of Education. She served in that capacity from 2003 to 2006. Following the exit of Professor Mercy Ogunsola-Bandele for sabbatical leave, Dr. Ibrahim Olatunde Salawu (now a Professor of Educational Technology and the Director of the Course Material Development unit -CMDU) took over and served for a period of six months. Later in 2006, Professor G.A. Badmus was appointed as a substantive Dean of the School. He served from 2006 to 2012. Professor I.O. Salawu was appointed substantive Dean in 2012, following the exit of Professor G.A. Badmus. Professor I.O. Salawu’s deanship expired on July, 2016; with the School system structure giving way to the Faculty/Departmental system. Consequently, Professor Charity Akuadi Okonkwo was elected as the substantive Dean of the Faculty of Education in July 2016 along with Dr. Juliet O. Inegbedion (now a Professor) as the Deputy Dean; Dr. Foluke Florence Fatimayin as the pioneer Head of Department of Arts and Social Sciences Education (ASSE); Dr. Uchenna Sydney Ajunwa Osuji (now a Professor) as the pioneer Head of Department of Educational Foundations; and Dr. Bamikole Oludare Ogunleye (now a Professor) as the pioneer Head of Department of Science Education.

Professor Okonkwo’s team took over in July 2016. Earlier in the year 2016, the then Deputy Dean, Dr Juliet Inegbedion (now Professor Juliet Inegbedion) was appointed the Director of Centre for Entrepreneurship and General Studies. There was a replacement by the person of Dr. Tessy Onogimesike Angba, who was subsequently elected the Deputy Dean of the Faculty. Later in 2018, there was the need for another election into the various duty posts at the Faculty. The election of 2018, saw Professor U. S. A Osuji emerging as the Dean, Professor Bamikole Ogunleye  as the Deputy Dean, Dr. Tessy Onogimesike Angba as the H.O.D Science Education, Dr. Foluke Fatimayia, H.O.D ASSE and Dr. Olusegun Adeleke Adenuga, H.O.D of Educational Foundation.

Shortly after assumption of duty in the various offices, Professor Bamikole Ogunleye and Dr. Tessy Onogimesike Angba, were posted out of the Faculty as study centre Directors. The development necessitated another election to fill up the posts of Deputy Dean and H.O.D Science Education. From the Election, Dr. Josiah Owolabi emerged as the Deputy Dean of Faculty and Dr Funke Susan Apata as the H.O.D Science Education.

At the expiration of the tenure of this set of leaders, another election was conducted virtually in 2020. This saw Professor U.S.A Osuji and Dr. Josiah Owolabi returning as Dean, and Deputy Dean respectively for the second and last term. Dr. Marcellinus Aneakwe emerged as the H.O.D Science Education, Professor A. C Ukwueze as the H.O.D Educational Foundations and Dr. Olufunke Osikomanya as the H.O.D ASSE.

As at 2018, the number of departments in the Faculty was three (3). Two new departments were approved in 2019. At this time, the number of departments increased from three (3) to five (5). The names of the pioneer heads of the new departments were Professor A. G Suleiman (for Health and Human Kinetics and Dr. Comfort Uzoigwe for Library and information Science. As at the time of compiling this report. The Library Information science department is headed by Dr. Ugonna Ailakhu and Health and Human Kinetics by Dr. (Mrs.) A.A. Kolawole.

Presently, the Faculty has five functional departments, as follows:

  1. Department of Arts and Social Science Education (ASSE) hosting three (3) undergraduate programmes.
  2. Departments of Educational Foundations hosting two (2) undergraduate programmes, one (1) PGDE/PGDDE programme, three (3 ) masters degree programme and three (3) PhD programmes.
  3. Department of Science Education, hosting seven (7) undergraduate programmes, one (1) Masters programme and one (1) PhD programme.
  4. Department of Health and Human Kinetics, hosting two (2) undergraduate programmes and
  5. Department of Library and Information Science, hosting one (1) undergraduate programme.

In all, the Faculty currently hosts, fifteen (15) undergraduate, two (2) postgraduate diploma programmes (PGDE and PGDDE), four (4) masters and three (3) PhD programmes through which it fulfills its mandate of preparing professional teachers through Open and Distance Learning.

The Registry staff of the Faculty are responsible for the day to day non-academic/administrative functions of the Faculty. This team is currently headed by a Senior Assistant Registrar, Mrs. Amara Opara  (the Ag. Faculty Offcer).

Our Vision

To prepare professional teachers, researchers and leaders through Open and Distance Learning


Our Mission

To provide quality and effective teacher education programmes using the principles of Open and Distance Learning.

Apply now